Snowballs

I’ll be honest. I stopped making these cookies for a while. One year I had the bright idea to bake cookies and roast hazelnuts for all of our friends and package them with a Christmas CD Jeff recorded. Brilliant idea, in theory. That Christmas season found me making dozen after dozen of these. As time went on, I would have much rather braved the late December mall – and I live by the maxim “hell is other people” – than stand in the kitchen for one more minute making these effing cookies.

I’ve now returned to my senses and annually make moderate quantities of these cookies. It’s really just shortbread wrapped around a chocolate kiss, but my god they are divine.

Just don’t store them in the fridge, as a friend ruefully told me once. Fridge-cold chocolate and teeth don’t get along too well!



2 sticks butter, softened
3/4 cup sugar
2 cups sifted flour
1 cup finely chopped walnuts
8 oz. Chocolate Kisses
powdered sugar for dusting

Cream butter and sugar well, until smooth. Add flour, then walnuts. Gather dough into disk-shape and wrap in plastic. Refrigerate at least half an hour. Preheat oven to 350F. Remove foil from Kisses and insert one inside a ball of dough 1″ in diameter. Make sure each Kiss is completely covered by dough. Bake on an ungreased baking sheet for about 12 minutes, until just cooked through. Sift over powdered sugar while still warm.

Notes: The walnuts are optional. I also opt not to dust with powdered sugar.

Source: Christmas Joy

4 thoughts on “Snowballs

  1. Advice for anyone giving this a try and not a veteran shortbread chef: bake until the bottom edge of the shortbread is golden brown otherwise you’re likely to end up with something undercooked as I did after nearly 20 minutes in the oven – nearly enough time but still not enough.

  2. Thanks anonymous!One more tip I should have mentioned earlier – I use a melon baller to scoop the dough. I roll it into a ball, but then slightly flatten the dough into a disc, place the kiss inside and then roll it back into a ball. Clumsy description, I know. If I ever get a offered a cooking show it will be the first thing I demonstrate.

  3. Looking back at the photograph of your results I realize I used far too much dough for each kiss. The upside: more kisses for me to eat while the cookies baked in the oven.

Comments are closed.