Cranberry Sauce

The deep, luscious red of cranberries mesmerizes me the entire time I’m cooking them. If I’ve been too busy to feel holidayish, making cranberry sauce brings it all back to me. From the moment I grab the bag of frozen berries out of the freezer and pour them into the saucepan, I know I’m just a few minutes away from the best friend (besides gravy) turkey ever had. To me, a plateful of turkey dinner just isn’t complete without a spoonful of ruby nestled beside a piece of white meat.

Cranberry Sauce

300g cranberries
100g sugar
20g butter
zest and juice of 1 orange
1 tbsp Grand Marnier, optional

Put the cranberries, sugar, butter, juice, zest of the orange and Grand Marnier in a pan. Add 50ml water and bring to a boil. After it has bubbled for a moment, lower the heat to a simmer, and cook for about 10 minutes, until the berries have popped and the sauce has thickened. Add more sugar if needed, cool before serving.

Source: Nigella Lawson, How to Eat

Updated December 2009

One thought on “Cranberry Sauce

Comments are closed.